What I’m Thankful for

As I approach the crazy busy and sometimes depressing holiday season, I feel happier when I reflect on all the good things that I have in this place I just moved to a year and a half ago.  Here’s my list of nine things.  You fill in the last one.  What do you appreciate in your community?

What I am thankful for (in no particular order):

1. My church, with its sizzling sermons and friendly greeters every Sunday.

2. My neighborhood service station, where I don’t have to pump my own gas, and where Doug keeps my old cars running well.

3. The talented teachers at my daughter’s school, who dedicate extra hours to making sure students are engaged and learning.

4. My congresswoman, who works long hours in Washington, but takes time out to take her elderly parents to church or attend her son’s ball games or theater performances.

5. My yoga teacher, who has helped me become pain free for the first time in two years.

6. The church that hosts our yoga class in their warm, sunny basement.

7. Grub Street, for giving me a supportive environment in which I am growing as a writer.

8. My inspiring writing teachers and friendly,  interesting classmates.

9.  The Shakespeare Youthquake Theater, where my family has developed a love and appreciation of all things Shakespeare.

10. You fill in the last one. What are you grateful for in your community?

Leave a comment